The decision in plain terms
Choose Vortex Plus 6QT ClearCook and OdorErase if you want one undivided cooking basket. Choose Vortex Plus Dual 8QT ClearCook if two baskets suit foods with separate settings.
The key tradeoff is shared cooking area versus separate zones. A total quart figure does not tell you which large items fit into each drawer. There is no hands-on performance winner or live-price winner in this comparison.
The documented differences
| Specification | Vortex Plus 6QT ClearCook and OdorErase 140-3089-01 · US | Vortex Plus Dual 8QT ClearCook 140-3090-01 · US |
|---|---|---|
| Total capacity (qt) | 6 | 8 |
| Layout | single | dual |
| Baskets | 1 | 2 |
| Exterior size | 11.8 W × 15.4 D × 13 H in | 15.87 W × 15.12 D × 12.48 H in |
| Rated power (W) | 1700 | 1700 |
| Cleaning | Cooking baskets and trays are dishwasher-safe. | Cooking baskets and trays are dishwasher-safe. |
| Documented modes | Air Fry, Roast, Bake, Broil, Reheat, Dehydrate | Air Fry, Roast, Bake, Broil, Reheat, Dehydrate |
| Warranty statement | 1-year limited warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
What could change your choice
Measure the food footprint you need, inspect the manual's clearance instructions and confirm exact-model accessories. Unknown dimensions and coating chemistry are not equivalent to zero or an adverse finding. Current price, stock and personal budget can reverse a specification-based preference.
140-3089-01: official source
140-3090-01: official source
140-3089-01: model-specific notes and limitations
Has a viewing window and a replaceable odor-filter system; we have not independently measured how well the filter works. The linked US manual asks for at least 5 inches above and around all sides; how far the drawer opens is not quantified. The manual’s text names AFB6112SS, and this model’s SKU appears in the linked file name. The product page labels Wide, Height and Length without units; as with other Instant models, we read length as front-to-back depth in inches.
basket and cooking tray: Manual describes a nonstick coating; chemistry not stated. Source
140-3090-01: model-specific notes and limitations
Two drawers; SyncCook and SyncFinish are controls, not additional cooking modes. The linked US manual asks for at least 5 inches above and around all sides; how far the drawers open is not quantified.
baskets and cooking trays: Manual describes a nonstick coating; chemistry not stated. Source
Sources verified 2026-09-14. Comparison is based on manufacturer statements, not our testing. How we research.