The decision in plain terms
Choose Vortex Plus 4QT if you want the smaller advertised capacity. Choose Vortex Plus 6QT ClearCook and OdorErase if the larger advertised capacity fits your batch plan.
The key documented difference is advertised capacity. That difference does not establish a proportionate change in usable cooking area, portions or cooking speed. There is no hands-on performance winner or live-price winner in this comparison.
The documented differences
| Specification | Vortex Plus 4QT 140-3079-01 · US | Vortex Plus 6QT ClearCook and OdorErase 140-3089-01 · US |
|---|---|---|
| Total capacity (qt) | 4 | 6 |
| Layout | single | single |
| Baskets | 1 | 1 |
| Exterior size | 10.1 W × 13.1 D × 11 H in | 11.8 W × 15.4 D × 13 H in |
| Rated power (W) | 1600 | 1700 |
| Cleaning | Nonstick basket; consult manual for washing instructions. | Cooking baskets and trays are dishwasher-safe. |
| Documented modes | Air Fry, Roast, Bake, Broil, Reheat, Dehydrate | Air Fry, Roast, Bake, Broil, Reheat, Dehydrate |
| Warranty statement | 1-year limited warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
What could change your choice
Measure the food footprint you need, inspect the manual's clearance instructions and confirm exact-model accessories. Unknown dimensions and coating chemistry are not equivalent to zero or an adverse finding. Current price, stock and personal budget can reverse a specification-based preference.
140-3079-01: official source
140-3089-01: official source
140-3079-01: model-specific notes and limitations
The product description says four functions, while its Features list names six. We list the six named in Features; check the manual before relying on a specific mode. The linked US manual asks for at least 5 inches above and around all sides; how far the drawer opens is not quantified.
cooking tray: Manual describes a nonstick coating; chemistry not stated. Source
140-3089-01: model-specific notes and limitations
Has a viewing window and a replaceable odor-filter system; we have not independently measured how well the filter works. The linked US manual asks for at least 5 inches above and around all sides; how far the drawer opens is not quantified. The manual’s text names AFB6112SS, and this model’s SKU appears in the linked file name. The product page labels Wide, Height and Length without units; as with other Instant models, we read length as front-to-back depth in inches.
basket and cooking tray: Manual describes a nonstick coating; chemistry not stated. Source
Sources verified 2026-09-14. Comparison is based on manufacturer statements, not our testing. How we research.